Stripped Naked

A lot of parts had been flown in over the holidays. I’m actually a little worried about how I’m spending my money because I really have nothing else to buy other than a new fork. Thanks eBay, mudah.my and bicyclebuysell.net.

It would also be very difficult to make decisions on buying anything without all the consumer and professional reviews online. The last time I had built a bike was during the dial-up era where most of the information lie in biking magazines or word of mouth. Technology has vastly changed since then too and I would now agree with many riders, standards too keep evolving making it quite difficult to stick to one standard.

I am a however, adamant about sticking to 26″ inch format with 21st century technology. I want the old with the new. I want it to be unique without looking insane. I now have a foldable bike with 26″ wheels using v-brakes powered by a 1×11 transmission system. If it had to be anymore unique, you’d have to look for a modified penny-farthing.

camerazoom-20161221163922604

As you can see, things have been pouring into my office. I’ve named the receptionist Santa Claus.

They’ve already stopped asking me to sign the parcel collection log-books. I’m a regular hehe..

There are still a few more things on the way. Most of my items come from different parts of the world and surprisingly, the stuff that takes the longest come from China and I’m not entirely sure why. Stuff from the other side of the planet takes half as long to reach here.

As this is a pet project and something I’m quite passionate about and might turn into a business in the future, I’ve decided to get my hands real dirty by building and tuning everything myself. There are some things that can’t be done easily alone and for those I’ll send to the shops to do. I prefer KSH in TTDI to do the really hard stuff for me. Recently I’ve had them build two bike wheels by replacing the hub and rim.

offer_813_7709321421296561

I’ve just dropped by today to get them to remove a stuck bottom bracket I’ve spent all night trying to extract. Their staffs are really nice and friendly. The price is very reasonable too. Drop by and have a look at all their stuff when you have the time.

There are many bike shops out there too so, don’t be afraid to visit them. Most of them really know their stuff. I’ve only had issues with Rodalink Putrajaya. Called them once to ask for a specific type of carbon fibre grip past and they said they didn’t have any so I went all the way to Rodalink Mont Kiara to get one tube. When I got back to my parents place in Putrajaya, I had a separate issue with my dads tubeless tire that couldn’t inflate so I decided to drop by Rodalink Putrajaya to get them to use a compressor. When I got there, they tried their best but couldn’t due to a ‘faulty compressor’. I don’t blame them for that but I noticed they stocked the carbon fibre grip paste I was looking for. I didn’t say a word and decided I wont be giving this shop much business for being lazy to check. It was smack centre in the middle of the story at eye level on a shelf.

Anyway, I’ve finally stripped my entire bike in preperation for the new wheel next week which will finally be 11 speed compatible. This is the mess I’ve made:

camerazoom-20170106111450532

I am quite happy to have all the tools with me ready. It’s just so much easier having everything you need in one single box. BTW, I’ve put my bikes’ name on the toolbox too. I plan to replace the heavy fork soon but I’m just waiting for the price to drop. I want to replace it with a rigid carbon fibre fork but, it’s still going for about rm700++ on ebay.

Here are most of the parts I’ll be putting into the bike:

camerazoom-20161222092302672

I’ll write about each component I’ve hand selected as I attach them. Everything has been carefully chosen for the build I require.

One of the most important things people tend to forget or ignore is the lighting accessory. I can’t recall how many times I’ve driven down a dark road and only noticed a cyclist a few metres away. If you get a really good brand with quality materials, you’ll be seen for hundreds of metres away which is far safer. I’ve bought the 300 lumens (bright!) Inox Mini for the front lights and the Moon Gemini, which has nearly 360 degree visibility, for the rear light. These are some things I wouldn’t compromise on besides the helmet and brakes. You should see these things as a necessity rather than an accessory.

camerazoom-20161222215952314

“Look how awesome that looks!”


camerazoom-20170102183936261
I’ve also got hold of a scale so now I can finally measure how much difference I’m making to the bikes’ weight. After attaching all the stock parts back, it weighs a total of almost 14kg. and this is after replacing the handlebars with a carbon fibre unit. I gave away the aluminum bar and bar ends to an old uncle at the bike store who was sad at the price of things for sale. He just wanted to replace the rusty bars on his bike so I told him I’ll give him mine since I’m replacing it anyway. He was a really happy dude 🙂

So, my bike is actually 14kg plus maybe another kilo which I was happy to give away.

I’ll be heading home tonight to work on the rest of the bike since the stubborn obstacle of a bottom-bracket has been miraculously removed by KSH. Until then, adios.

Leave a Reply

