Plastic butt-holder/waffle maker

Santa has been pretty generous so far. Ok, not exactly since I’m paying for the stuff but it’s nice to come to the office and receive parcels almost daily. Unwrapping new stuff will never be not fun- ever.

Saddles are easily one of the most customizable parts of the bike and it also should be tailored to you. You should never just stick to whatever came out of the factory. Not everyone is created equal. We all have different sized butts. But the saddle choices and setup can depend on many other factors too. There’s far too many to list here so, these are some genuinely good reads to help you choose:

  1. This covers basically everything about choosing the right saddle for the job and how to set it up correctly to improve comfort while being able to pedal efficiently:
    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/saddles.html
  2. Have a look at this link for a more technical way of getting your saddle height set up correctly. This is very important for efficiency and comfort:
    http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/fitness/bike-fit/saddle-height-why-you-need-to-get-it-right-25379

I’ve just received a new saddle in the mail.I chose this particular saddle because I needed something light, cheap, comfortable and ‘cooling’. The first choice was the original Spyder saddles but they’re way out of my budget so I went for a Taiwanese version called the Vertu. I paid roughly $10 dollars for it. The second option was for something out of Brooks. I’ll try these ‘disposable’ seats first. Even the original manufacturer suggesting using these to a maximum of 2 years.

I was quite happy to feel the quality of the item however, the stickers were a little flimsy and didn’t stick very well. I may have to file some of the mold residue that might feel a little sharp while riding. I later put it on the scale to measure its weight compared to what it’s replacing:

As you can see, the older saddle was twice the weight of the new saddle. I have found lighter alternatives but they were more expensive and contain much more exotic material.

The next step was to actually test it. After reading some tips on adjustments, I’ve managed to get it on and go for a ride. Despite the waffleness of the design, it looks really good on a bike as shown below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As for the ride, I found it very comfortable. It was surprisingly flexible and did absorb some of the roughness of the hardtail ride. Because of the low cost, I didn’t mind leaning the bike against walls or trees. It’s nice not to have to baby something. There was some cooling effect from the waffle holes especially at speed. Installation was also very simple. I only had some very light discomfort from the edges that I haven’t had a chance to file yet but I’ll definitely get around to it for the sake of my thighs and derriere.

I’m happy to report this was a worthwhile purchase.

Leave a Reply

